Eva Thiemann member of Field Radio

Callsign: HB9FPM, OK3QE

QTH: Bassersdorf, Switzerland, canton Zurich, located in the district of Buelach, locator JN47HK Podmokly, my second QTH, in my native country, Czech Republic, locator JN69UW. Podmokly is a village and municipality in Rokycany district in the Plzeň region of the Czech Republic.

When were you first licensed ?  12.5.2014. I have been in an intensive HAM course in OK (CzechEva Thiemann member of Field Radio Republic). It was 4 days. Before of course I learned all about the amateur radio. After was an exam and I passed successfully. We were in a nice camp in Hradec Králové. I’m expressing my heartful thanks to the friends ( teachers) Ivan OK1MOW, Vráťa OK1KT, Vojta OK1ZHV, Vašek OK1MWA, Václav OK1VD and my OM Andy HB9OE/OK8JOE for their help learning me the wonderful world of Amateur Radio.

How did you become interested in radio? My OM Andy is HAM ( HB9JOE)

Favorite Radio Activities and Locations ? SOTA (over 100 summits in 12 month), first experience in contesting

Future Hobby Plans or Goals ? My goal is learning CW, activating once a 4000 m high SOTA peak in HB9 and getting mountain goat as activator.

Member of any radio organizations or clubs ? I am member of USKA, CRC, HB9SOTA and treasurer of IARU R1 since 2014

Describe some of your favorite Field Radio experiences ? Only on SOTA in several countries as HB (Switzerland), F (France), DL (Germany), OE (Austria), OK (Czech Republic), OM (Slovak Republic), SP (Poland), LX (Luxembourg), PA (Netherlands), ON (Belgium)

Transceivers and Antennas: At home: IC-7700, ant 24m end fed On SOTA: KX3, linked dipole

Modes: SSB

Eva Thiemann operating portable in the snow

Thanks to Joe Armstrong K9ATG. He found me somewhere on the globe and wanted make this interview with me.

Note from Joe K9ATG: All of this, and only licensed since 2014! She can also be found at QRZ.com Thanks Eva for sharing your story!

Please note that all photographs appearing on this page can be viewed in a larger size by clicking on them.